Back to school
Special deals and offers  -  Show offers
×
Menu

Skateboards

Good to know

Skateboarding Is a Versatile Action Sport

Skateboarding is an action sport, in which various tricks are performed by using a skateboard. Even though the sport focuses heavily on different tricks, jumps, and grinds, skateboarding has also become a popular way of getting around urban areas.

Skateboarding is known for three main styles: park, vert, and street skateboarding. Park skateboarding is performed mainly in skate parks with various special-made obstacles. Vert skateboarding involves vertical riding on ramps or vert bowls, and it requires more speed than the other styles. Street skateboarding uses everyday urban obstacles such as rails and stairs in performing tricks.

You can find more information on the different types of skateboarding in our guide Buying Skateboards for Intermediates.

Why Skateboarding Is Good for You

Riding a skateboard has many benefits. It improves your body coordination since you need to constantly modify your body positions to land tricks accurately. It also has a positive impact on your balance, and it’s also worth mentioning that it is a fun full-body workout at its best.

Skateboarding is also a great way to meet new people who share similar interests. It is easy to be social at skate parks because people tend to greet each other and start conversations about their favourite tricks and skateboard brands. The sport is also a great way to boost your confidence, since nothing feels better than to nail a trick right for the first time.

The History of Skateboarding

The history of skateboarding as we know it today began in the 1940s on the West Coast of the US. Around that time surfers started to mount wheels on plates, planks, and other things they could use as decks when they could not surf. Originally, skateboarding was called “sidewalk surfing” due to the heavy influence of surfing.

Over the next decades, the sport continued to develop. In the 1960s, the first shops started to sell skateboards, and in the 70s ceramic and metal wheels were replaced with polyurethane wheels. The 1980s was the start of skateboarding’s golden age, and a great number of skateboard companies run by skateboarders emerged. Throughout this decade, several movies about skateboarding culture were released, some of which have become cult classics.

Skateboarding is now one of the most popular action sports in the world. It is considered a competitive, serious sport, especially after its first appearance at the Olympics at Tokyo 2020.

SkatePro
Privacy policy Cookies Terms and conditions

Rentrée Scolaire
Promotions et offres spéciales  -  Voir les offres
×
Menu

Skateboards

Bon à savoir

Le Skateboard, un Sport d’Action Polyvalent

Le skateboard est un sport d’action, dans lequel diverses figures sont effectuées. Même si le sport se concentre fortement sur différents tricks, sauts et grinds, le skateboard est également devenu un moyen populaire de se déplacer dans les zones urbaines.

Le skateboard est connu pour trois styles principaux : park, vert et street. La discipline du park est effectué principalement dans les skateparks avec divers obstacles. Le Vert implique de rouler verticalement sur des rampes ou des bowls et il nécessite plus de vitesse que les autres styles. Le street utilise des obstacles urbains quotidiens comme les rails et les escaliers pour effectuer des tricks.

Vous pouvez trouver plus d’informations sur les différents types de skateboard dans notre guide de skateboard pour niveau intermédiaire.

Pourquoi Le Skate est bon pour vous.

Pratiquer le skate a de nombreux avantages. Il améliore la coordination de votre corps puisque vous avez besoin d'ajuster constamment la position de votre corps pour atterrir avec précision. Il a par ailleurs un impact positif sur votre équilibre, et il est également utile de mentionner que c’est d’entraînement complet pour chaque partie de votre corps.

Le skateboard est aussi un excellent moyen de rencontrer de nouvelles personnes qui partagent la même passion. Il est facile d’être sociable dans les skateparks parce que les gens ont tendance à se saluer et à commencer à discuter. Ce sport est également un excellent moyen d’augmenter votre confiance.

L'histoire du Skateboard

L’histoire du skateboard tel que nous le connaissons aujourd’hui a commencé dans les années 1940 sur la côte ouest des États-Unis. Vers cette époque, les surfeurs ont commencé à monter des roues sur des plaques, des planches et d’autres choses qu’ils pouvaient utiliser comme plateau quand ils ne pouvaient pas surfer. À l’origine, le skateboard était appelé « surf sur trottoir » en raison de la forte influence du surf.

Au cours des décennies suivantes, le sport a continué à se développer. Dans les années 1960, les premiers magasins ont commencé à vendre des planches à roulettes, et dans les années 70, les roues en céramique ont été remplacées par des roues en polyuréthane. Les années 1980 ont été le début de l’âge d’or du skateboard, et un grand nombre de marques de skateboard dirigées par des skateurs ont émergé. Tout au long de cette décennie, plusieurs films sur la culture du skateboard ont été publiés, dont certains sont devenus des classiques cultes.

Le skateboard est maintenant l’un des sports de glisse les plus populaires au monde. Il est considéré comme un sport sérieux et compétitif, surtout après sa première apparition aux Jeux olympiques de Tokyo 2020.

SkatePro
Protection des données Cookies Conditions générales